Albrecht Wagner is a particle physicist from Germany. He received his PhD from the University of Heidelberg and worked as a researcher at the University of Heidelberg, the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory (USA), DESY and CERN. In 1984 he became Professor at the University of Heidelberg and in 1991 at the University of Hamburg, where he was also appointed Director of Research at DESY. From 1999 until 2009, Dr. Wagner was Chairman of the DESY Board of Directors. He played a critical role as the leader of several international consortia, including as Chairman of the TESLA Technology Collaboration Board from 2005 to 2009 and as Chairman of the International Committee for Future Accelerators (ICFA) from 2006 to 2008. He has, and continues, to serve on many advisory boards and councils. From 2007 to 2008 he was Vice President of the Helmholtz Foundation; since 2008 he has been the Chairman of the Council of Hamburg University; and since 2010 a member of the Board of the Joachim Herz Foundation. He previously served as the Chair of the Board of Councilors at OIST Graduate University. Dr. Wagner is the holder of multiple honorary degrees and has been the recipient of many awards, including the Distinguished Service Cross of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.